32BJ Hudson Valley Announces 2021 Primary Endorsements

Frank Soults, 860-471-5692, fsoults@seiu32bj.org

32BJ Hudson Valley Announces 2021 Primary Endorsements

WHITE PLAINS, New York—The Hudson Valley district of Local 32BJ SEIU today announced its members’ endorsements for the Westchester County Democratic Party primary on June 22. The union’s 4,500 Hudson Valley members include janitors, security officers, residential building superintendents, country club groundskeepers, and many other property service workers. Across the East Coast, 32BJ boasts more than 175,000 members in 11 states and Washington DC, making it the largest union of building service employees in the nation, and one of the largest with a majority immigrant membership.
The following statement may be attributed to Shirley Aldebol, 32BJ Vice President in the Hudson Valley.

“Our members know firsthand that elections matter. Time and again, these candidates have stood with 32BJ in the fight for labor rights, for immigrant and racial justice, and for economic fairness. Many of the endorsed county legislators fought to strengthen the Westchester County Displaced Worker Law, including newcomer Erika Pierce, who served as an aide to retiring councilmember Kitley Covill. Yonkers City Council President Mike Khader has stood with union workers who suddenly found themselves without a job, and Councilmember Corazon Pineda Isaac has proven an effective advocate for sensible police reform and vital pandemic relief. Each has committed to continue the fight for working people, and we are honored to support them in the upcoming primary and beyond.”
Westchester County Board of Legislators:

District       Candidate
1                    Colin Smith
2                    Erika Pierce
4                    Vedat Gashi
5                    Benjamin Boykin (chair)
6                    Nancy Barr
7                    Catherine Parker
8                    Alfreda Williams (vice chair)

District       Candidate
9                    Catherine Borgia
10                 Damon Maher
11                 Terry Clements
12                 Mary Jane Shimsky (majority leader)
13                 Tyrae Woodson-Samuels
14                 David Tubiolo
15                 Ruth Walter
16                 Chris Johnson (majority whip)
17                 Jose Alvarado


Yonkers City Council:
Council President         Mike Khader
Council District #2        Corazon Pineda Isaac

More to explore

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you consent to cookies being used. Visit our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Scroll to Top