32BJ Holds Republican State Senators Accountable For Failing To Help Middle-Class And Working Families

32BJ Holds Republican State Senators Accountable For Failing To Help Middle-Class And Working Families

32BJ today announced endorsements in the New York legislative races that showed the union is holding current GOP state senators to account for failing to help middle-class and working families.

“Unlike state Republicans in the past, New York’s current Republican state senators have failed our state by refusing to pass crucial, commonsense legislation that would benefit middle-class and working New Yorkers,” 32BJ Secretary-Treasurer Hector Figueroa said. “They refused to raise the minimum wage; opposed a bill to force utilities like Con Ed to abide by the state’s prevailing wage law; and chose to continue the corruption of our political system by blocking campaign finance reform.”

“At a time when so many New Yorkers are struggling to get by, our union stands strongly with Democratic challengers who will fight in the state Senate for fairness to middle-class and working families.”

Among the incumbents running who failed to win 32BJ’s endorsement are State Senator Marty Golden in the 22nd District, where the union is endorsing Democrat Andrew Gounardes. In the 40th District in the Hudson Valley, the union also endorsed the Democratic challenger, Justin Wagner, over incumbent Senator Greg Ball.

With 70,000 members in New York State, 32BJ is known for its strength in mobilizing members and voters to support endorsed candidates. In recent years, the union has strengthened its political endorsement program by putting resources toward door-to-door campaigns as well as mailers, phone banking and other independent expenditures to reach voters.

32BJ’s endorsement process is guided by an extensive screening of candidates by members, and by the union’s policy agenda, which emphasizes the creation of good jobs and support for prevailing wage standards and responsible economic development.
Endorsements in NYC are as follows:

District Endorsed District Endorsed


Assembly 23- Phillip Goldfeder(D)
Assembly 24- David Weprin(D)
Assembly 25- Jerry Iannece (D)
Assembly 26- Edward Braunstein(D)
Assembly 27- Michael Simanowitz(D)
Assembly 28- Andrew Hevesi(D)
Assembly 29 – William Scarborough(D)
Assembly 30- Margaret Markey ( D)
Assembly 31- Michele Titus ( D)
Assembly 32- Vivian Cook (D)
Assembly 33- Barbara Clark (D)
Assembly 34- Michael DenDekker (D)
Assembly 35- Jeffrion Aubry (D)
Assembly 36- Aravella Simotas-(D)
Assembly 37- Catherine Nolan (D)
Assembly 38- Michael Miller (D)
Assembly 39- Francisco Moya (D)
Assembly 40- Ron Kim(D)
Assembly 41- Helene Weinstein (D)
Assembly 42- Rhoda Jacobs(D)
Assembly 43- Karim Camara (D)
Assembly 44- James F. Brennan (D)
Assembly 45- Steven Cymbrowitz (D)
Assembly 46- Alec Brook-Krasny (D)
Assembly 47- William Colton (D)
Assembly 48- Dov Hikind (D)
Assembly 49- Peter Abbate( D)
Assembly 50- Joseph Lentol (D)
Assembly 51- Felix Ortiz (D)
Assembly 52- Joan Millman (D)
Assembly 53- Vito Lopez (D)
Assembly 54- Rafael Espinal (D)
Assembly 56- Annette Robinson (D)
Assembly 58- Nick Perry (D)
Assembly 59- Alan Maisel( D)
Assembly 60- Inez Barron (D)
Assembly 61- Matthew Titone (D)
Assembly 63- Michael Cusick (D)
Assembly 65- Sheldon Silver ( D)
Assembly 66- Deborah Glick ( D)
Assembly 67- Linda Rosenthal (D)
Assembly 68- Robert Rodriguez (D)
Assembly 69- Daniel O’Donnell( D)
Assembly 70- Keith Wright( D)
Assembly 71- Herman Farrell ( D)
Assembly 72- Mayra Linares( D)
Assembly 73- Dan Quart(D)
Assembly 74- Brian Kavanagh (D)
Assembly 75- Richard Gottfried (D)
Assembly 76- Micah Kellner ( D)
Assembly 77- Vanessa Gibson (D)
Assembly 78- Jose Rivera( D)
Assembly 79- Eric Stevenson( D)
Assembly 80- Naomi Rivera (D)
Assembly 81- Jeffrey Dinowitz (D)
Assembly 82- Michael Benedetto (D)
Assembly 83- Carl Heastie (D)
Assembly 84- Carmen Arroyo (D)
Assembly 85- Marcos Crespo ( D)
Assembly 86- Nelson Castro( D)
Assembly 87- Luis Sepulveda (D)Senate 11- Tony Avella ( D)
Senate 12- Michael N. Gianaris (D)
Senate 13- Jose Peralta ( D)
Senate 14- Malcolm Smith ( D)
Senate 15- Joseph Addabbo (D)
Senate 16- Toby Stavisky (D)
Senate 18- Martin Malave Dilan ( D)
Senate 19- John Sampson ( D)
Senate 20- Eric Adams ( D)
Senate 21- Kevin Parker ( D)
Senate 22- Andrew Gounardes (D)
Senate 23- Diane Savino (D)
Senate 25- Velmanette Montgomery ( D)
Senate 26- Daniel Squadron ( D)
Senate 27- Brad Hoylman (D)
Senate 28- Liz Krueger ( D)
Senate 29- Jose M. Serrano ( D)
Senate 30- Bill Perkins ( D)
Senate 31- Adriano Espaillat(D)
Senate 32- Ruben Diaz, Sr. (D)
Senate 33- Gustavo Rivera ( D)
Senate 34- Jeffrey Klein (D)


More to explore

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you consent to cookies being used. Visit our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Scroll to Top