32BJ Congratulates Progressive Candidates on Victories in Connecticut

For more information:

Frank Soults

32BJ of the SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION For immediate Release, Wednesday, November 7, 2018

32BJ Congratulates Progressive Candidates on Victories in Connecticut

HARTFORD, Conn.— 32BJ SEIU members in Connecticut proudly celebrated the election of the vast majority of their endorsed candidates in Tuesday’s election, starting with the historic win of Jahana Hayes in the 5th Congressional District and continuing with the wins by progressive candidates listed below, as of Wednesday morning. With 163,000 members across the East Coast, 32BJ SEIU is the nation’s largest property service workers union, representing some 4,000 janitors, security officers and other property service workers in Connecticut alone. Over the course of the primary and general elections, 32BJ members volunteered their time to make phone calls and knock on over 10,000 doors for candidates in Hartford, New Haven, Bridgeport, Stamford, Norwalk, Danbury, Southington, Berlin, Willimantic, and New Britain to get out the vote. “These victories show that Connecticut voters are tired of the politics of hate and division. They demand candidates who will take a realistic and humane approach to solving our fiscal crisis, and will advance the well-being of workers, immigrants, and all those who are marginalized by the forces of wealth and power,” said Juan Hernandez, Vice-President of 32BJ SEIU. “We offer our deepest congratulations to Jahana Hayes for her historic victory in the 5th Congressional District, and to all the newly elected officials who will help Connecticut residents move forward together.” Congratulations to the following candidates: STATEWIDE OFFICES
  • Governor – Ned Lamont • Lieutenant Governor – Susan Bysiewicz • Attorney General — William Tong • Treasurer – Shawn Wooden • Comptroller – Kevin Lembo • Secretary of the State —Denise Merrill
  • Chris Murphy
  • John Larson
  • Joe Courtney
  • Rosa DeLauro
  • Jim Himes
  • Jahana Hayes
  • John Fonfara
  • Douglas McCrory
  • Steve Cassano
  • Beth Bye
  • Terry Gerratana
  • Matt Lesser
  • Gary Holder Winfield
  • Marty Looney
  • Mary Abrams
  • Cathy Osten
  • Marilyn Moore
  • Julie Kushner
  • Bob Duff
  • Will Haskell
  • Carlo Leone
  • Mae Flexer
  • Matthew Ritter
  • Minnie Gonzalez
  • Brandon McGee
  • Edwin Vargas
  • Joshua Hall
  • Jason Rojas
  • Bobby Gibson
  • Rick Lopes
  • Robert Sanchez
  • Russ Morin
  • Chris Soto
  • Christine Conley
  • Joe de la Cruz
  • Emmett Riley
  • Linda Orange
  • Susan Johnson
  • Gregory Haddad
  • Michael Winkler
  • Geraldo Reyes
  • Hilda Santiago
  • Josh Elliott
  • Michael D’Agostino
  • Toni Walker
  • Robyn Porter
  • Juan Candelaria
  • Roland Lemar
  • Alphonse Paolillo
  • James Albis
  • Michael DiMassa
  • Jack Hennessy
  • Christopher Rosario
  • Steve Stafstrom
  • Ezequiel Santiago
  • Chris Perone
  • Caroline Simmons


With 163,000 members in eleven states and Washington, D.C. including 4,500 in Connecticut, 32BJ SEIU is the largest property service workers union in the country.