General Election Endorsements from 32BJ SEIU Connecticut

Frank Soults, 860-471-5692

General Election Endorsements from 32BJ SEIU Connecticut


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, October 25, 2018

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Frank Soults, 860-471-5692

General Election Endorsements from 32BJ SEIU Connecticut
HARTFORD, Conn. — 32BJ SEIU Connecticut has formally endorsed the following candidates in the 2018 General Election. With 4,500 members who work as janitors and security officers in office complexes, universities, schools, public buildings and private firms across Connecticut, and 165,000 members across the East Coast, 32BJ SEIU is the nation’s largest building service employees union and one of the largest unions representing immigrants in the country. The following statement may be attributed to Juan Hernandez, Vice-President of 32BJ SEIU Connecticut:

“This year it’s more important than ever to get out and vote for candidates who will stand up for working people and others under attack. As greedy interests continue to divide us by race and country of origin, determined to deprive working men and women of their power, Connecticut’s legislature has become a prime target for anti-union and anti-immigrant assaults. All races and ethnicities need to unite to elect leaders who will vigorously support legislation and policies to promote immigrant rights, collective bargaining, a $15 minimum wage, paid family leave, and environmental safeguards. Starting with the rigorously principled Ned Lamont in the governor’s race, and including tireless champions of marginalized people like Senate candidates Matt Lesser in Middletown, Senator Steve Cassano in Manchester, and Julie Kushner in Danbury, all have the men and women below have our firm support for their commitment to work toward a more just and equitable society for all.”

32BJ Endorsements for 2018 Elections in Connecticut:
• Governor – Ned Lamont
• Lieutenant Governor – Susan Bysiewicz
• Attorney General — William Tong
• Treasurer – Shawn Wooden
• Comptroller – Kevin Lembo
• Secretary of the State —Denise Merrill
• U.S. Senate — Chris Murphy

• CT 1st Congressional District — John Larson
• CT 2nd Congressional District — Joe Courtney
• CT 3rd Congressional District — Rosa DeLauro
• CT 4th Congressional District — Jim Himes
• CT 5th Congressional District — Jahanna Hayes

District Candidate
1 John Fonfara
2 Douglas McCrory
4 Steve Cassano
5 Beth Bye
6 Terry Gerratana
9 Matt Lesser
10 Gary Holder Winfield
11 Marty Looney
13 Mary Abrams
16 Vickie Nardello
18 Robert Stachen
19 Cathy Osten
20 Martha Marx
22 Marilyn Moore
24 Julie Kushner
25 Bob Duff
26 Will Haskell
27 Carlo Leone
29 Mae Flexer

District Candidate
1 Matthew Ritter
3 Minnie Gonzalez
4 Kennard Ray
5 Brandon McGee
6 Edwin Vargas
7 Joshua Hall
9 Jason Rojas
15 Bobby Gibson
24 Rick Lopes
25 Robert Sanchez
28 Russ Morin
39 Chris Soto
40 Christine Conley
41 Joe de la Cruz
46 Emmett Riley
48 Linda Orange
49 Susan Johnson
54 Gregory Haddad
56 Michael Winkler
75 Geraldo Reyes
84 Hilda Santiago
88 Josh Elliott
91 Michael D’Agostino
93 Toni Walker
94 Robyn Porter
95 Juan Candelaria
96 Roland Lemar
97 Alphonse Paolillo*
99 James Albis
116 Michael DiMassa*
127 Jack Hennessy
128 Christopher Rosario
129 Steve Stafstrom
130 Ezequiel Santiago
137 Chris Perone
144 Caroline Simmons

With 163,000 members in twelve states and Washington, D.C., including 4,500 in Connecticut, 32BJ SEIU is the largest property service workers union in the country.

More to explore

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you consent to cookies being used. Visit our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Scroll to Top