32BJ SEIU Endorses Candidates for Borough Presidents and City Council

32BJ SEIU Endorses Candidates for Borough Presidents and City Council

New York – Local 32BJ of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) today announced major endorsements in Democratic primary races for Brooklyn and Queens Borough Presidents and 44 City Council seats.

“All of these candidates have demonstrated a deep commitment to the working people of our city,” said Hector Figueroa, president of 32BJ. “Now more than ever New York City needs real champions of working families who will stand up to special interests who would deny workers good jobs that will bring them solidly into the middle class.”

32BJ, the largest property service union in the country with 70,000 members in New York City alone, endorsed State Sen. Jose Peralta for Queens Borough President and State Sen. Eric Adams for Brooklyn Borough President.

“Senators Adams and Peralta have repeatedly stood up for working people – not only in their district, but all across the city,” Figueroa said.  “All of the men and women we endorsed for City Council also have been powerful advocates for workers.

The endorsements come six days after it held screenings for candidates in virtually every race in the city. On March 2, some 400 union members listened to and questioned the candidates about their positions on issues affecting working families in New York.

A complete list of the union’s City Council endorsements is below. Endorsements in other races will be forthcoming.

Endorsements by borough 


  • District 2 Rosie Mendez*
  • District 3 Corey Johnson
  • District 4 Daniel Garodnick*
  • District 5 Micah Kellner
  • District 6 Marc Landis
  • District 7 Mark Levine
  • District 8 Melissa Mark-Viverito*
  • District 9 Inez Dickens*
  • District 10 Ydanis Rodriguez*



  • District 11 Andrew Cohen
  • District 12 Andy King
  • District 13 James Vacca*
  • District 14 Fernando Cabrera*
  • District 15 Ritchie Torres
  • District 16 Vanessa Gibson
  • District 17 Maria Del Carmen Arroyo*
  • District 18 Annabel Palma*



  • Borough President Jose Peralta
  • District 19 Austin Shafran
  • District 20 Peter Koo*
  • District 21 Julissa Ferreras*
  • District 22 Costa Constaninides
  • District 23 Mark Weprin*
  • District 24 Rory Lancman
  • District 25 Daniel Dromm*
  • District 26 Jimmy Van Bramer*
  • District 27 Daneek Miller
  • District 28 Ruben Wills*
  • District 29 Karen Koslowitz
  • District 30 Elizabeth Crowley*
  • District 31 Donovan Richards
  • District 32 Eric Ulrich*



  • Borough President Eric Adams
  • District 33 Stephen Levin*
  • District 34 Antonio Reynoso
  • District 36 Kirsten John Foy
  • District 37 Rafael Espinal
  • District 38 Carlos Menchaca
  • District 39 Brad Lander*
  • District 40 Mathieu Eugene*
  • District 41 Darlene Mealy*
  • District 43 Vincent Gentile*
  • District 44 David G. Greenfield*
  • District 45 Jumaane D. Williams*
  • District 46 Alan Maisel


Staten Island

  • District 49 Deborah Rose*

More to explore

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you consent to cookies being used. Visit our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Scroll to Top